HFICD Newsletter

Save the Date: 12th NPIC-HMIT Conference

June 13-17, 2021

We are excited to announce to the members of the HFICD information regarding the 2021 Nuclear Plant Instrumentation, Control and Human-Machine Interface Technologies (NPIC & HMIT) Conference.  Building on the success of the last conference in Orlando, Florida in February 2019, the next NPIC & HMIT will be an embedded topical meeting within the 2021 ANS Annual Meeting. Please mark your calendars now, and join us in Providence, Rhode Island at the Omni Convention Center June 13 thru 17, 2021. As a member of this division, please consider submitting a paper on your efforts in our field. We encourage you to be a part of this experience, and we are looking forward to seeing you there!

Newsletter Overview


Hello, HFICD Members,

It has been an interesting year for everyone in the Human Factors and Instrumentation and Controls Division (HFICD)! While 2020 has not been what anyone expected, the Summer 2020 newsletter is here to keep you informed on what is happening in HFICD. On the following pages, the division is pleased to congratulate all of our division award winners, with Dr. Richard Wood and David Rahn winning the Don Miller Award, Pareez Golub winning the H.M. Hashemian award, and Samir Darbali being awarded the Ted Quinn early-career award. We would also like to recognize Dr. Jin Jiang, who was elevated to the distinguished grade of ANS Fellow in 2019. The division is also pleased to congratulate Dr. Wes Hines for being awarded this year’s Robert L. Long award from ANS. The newsletter concludes with two articles, one written by HFICD’s own Dr. Graeme West. Dr. West has provided an update on the recent research he has been conducting at the University of Strathclyde that focuses on the use of operational intelligence to support through life management of nuclear plants. The last article, a press release from the University of Purdue, celebrates the successful licensing of the first entirely digital nuclear reactor instrumentation and control system in the nation.

I hope that you enjoy the newsletter and thank
you for being a part of HFICD!

Best Regards,

Adam Deatherage
AMS Corporation
HFICD Communications Committee Chair

Congratulations to the 2020 Division Award Winners:

Don Miller Awards:
Dr. Richard Wood
Mr. David Rahn

H.M. Hashemian Mid-Career Award:
Ms. Pareez Golub

Ted Quinn Early-Career Award:
Mr. Samir Darbali

Uhrig Fellow:
Sawyer Irvine – UTK